Arizona Coyotes Arizona Coyotes Home Gila River Arena
click map Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest Mobile App Newsletter
  • RSS


Monday, 08.1.2005 / 1:39 PM MT / News
Arizona Coyotes
Share with your Friends


National Junior Evaluation Camp To Begin Saturday in Lake Placid

Selected Players Will Compete In 2006 IIHF World Junior Championship

Monday, August 1, 2005
COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Forty-three of the best American players under the age of 20 will descend on Lake Placid, N.Y,. Saturday (Aug. 6) for the eight-day 2005 National Junior Evaluation Camp. Participating players are candidates for the 2006 U.S. National Junior Team that will compete in the 2006 International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championship, Dec. 26, 2005-Jan. 5, 2006, in Vancouver, British Columbia. Among the 43 players selected to the eval uation camp were Phoenix Coyotes prospects Kevin Porter and Keith Yandle (who was seleced by the Coyotes in the 4th round, 105th overall in the 2005 NHL Entry Draft this past Saturday in Ottawa, Ontario). 

The 24 forwards, 15 defensemen and four goaltenders will be divided into two teams -- Team White and Team Blue -- and will compete in eight international contests against the under-20 teams from Finland and Sweden.

Of those invited, 19 were  drafted this past weekend in the 2005 National Hockey League Entry Draft including seven in the first round. Bobby Ryan (Cherry Hill, N.J.) was picked second by Anaheim, Jack Johnson (Faribault, Minn.) was selected third by Carolina,  Jack Skille (Madison, Wis.) was chosen seventh by Chicago and Brian Lee (Fargo, N.D.) rounded out the top 10 at nine with Ottawa. Matt Lashoff (Albany, N.Y.) was picked 22nd by Boston, T.J. Oshie (Warroad, Minn.) was taken 24th by St. Louis and Matt Niskanen (Mountain Iron, Minn.) went to Dallas with the 28th pick.

Other invitees drafted last Saturday (July 30) in Ottawa include defensemen Chris Butler (St. Louis, Mo./Buffalo), Taylor Chorney (Hastings, Minn./Edmonton), Nate Hagemo (Edina, Minn./Carolina), Kyle Lawson (New Hudson, Mich./Carolina) and Keith Yandle (Milton, Mass./Phoenix); forwards Justin Abdelkader (Muskegon, Mich./Detroit), Nathan Davis (Rocky River, Ohio/Chicago), Tom Fritsche (Parma, Ohio/Colorado), Nathan Gerbe (Oxford, Mich./Buffalo), and Jordan LaVallee (Corvallis, Ore./Atlanta); and goaltenders Jeff Frazee (Burnsville, Minn./New Jersey) and Jonathan Quick (Hamden, Conn./Los Angeles).

Also highlighting the list of invitees are nine players returning from the 2005 U.S. National Junior Team that finished fourth at the 2005 IIHF World Junior Championship, including forwards Phil Kessel (Madison, Wis.), Kevin Porter (Detroit, Mich.), Shawn Weller (Glens Falls, N.Y.), Robbie Schremp (Fulton, N.Y.), Chris Bourque (Topsfield, Mass.) and Adam Pineault (Holyoke, Mass.); defensemen Brian Lee and Nate Hagemo; and goaltender Cory Schneider (Marblehead, Mass.).

Camp opens on August 5, with the first games set for August 9. All practice sessions are open to the public and tickets to the international games are available through the Olympic Regional Development Authority in Lake Placid.

NOTES: The University of Michigan, which had five players on last year's U.S. National Junior Team, will send four players to this year's camp. The University of North Dakota will also send four players ... Peter Mueller (Bloomington, Minn.), who is a member of USA Hockey's National Team Development Program, is the youngest player invited to the camp ... Camp invitee Tom Fritsche is the younger brother of two-time U.S. National Junior Team member Dan Fritsche. is the official Web site of the Arizona Coyotes. The Arizona Coyotes and are trademarks of IceArizona Hockey Co LLC, NHL, NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL Logos and marks NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 2016 The Arizona Coyotes and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Contact Us