• RSS

Coyotes Record Back-to-Back Hat Tricks for Fourth Time in Franchise History

Sunday, 11.14.2010 / 12:04 AM / News
Phoenix Coyotes
Saturday, November 13, 2010

GLENDALE, Arizona --- Phoenix Coyotes left wing Ray Whitney scored a hat trick tonight to help the Coyotes defeat the St. Louis Blues 5-3 at Jobing.com Arena. The hat trick was the Coyotes second in consecutive nights and fourth overall this season.

In the history of the Phoenix Coyotes/Winnipeg Jets franchise, the team has recorded back to back hat tricks four times at home:

* Ray Whitney (11/13/10 vs. St. Louis) and Vernon Fiddler (11/12/10 vs. Calgary)
* Jeremy Roenick – twice (11/25/99 vs. New Jersey and 11/26/99 vs. Colorado)
* Eddie Olczyk (12/12/95 vs. Montreal) and Teemu Selanne (12/15/95 vs. Edmonton)
* Teemu Selanne – twice (2/28/93 vs. Minnesota and 3/2/93 vs. Quebec)

The Coyotes lead the National Hockey League with four hat tricks this season (Lee Stempniak on 10/21/10 vs. Los Angeles; Ed Jovanovski on 11/3/10 vs. Nashville; Vernon Fiddler on 11/12/10 vs. Calgary and Ray Whitney on 11/13/10 vs. St. Louis). This marks the fastest four hat tricks to start a season (17 games) in franchise history. Prior to this season, the franchise record was three hat tricks in 17 games. For all four Coyotes players’ hat tricks this season, each player scored his first goal of the season in that game.

The Coyotes have now won three games in a row and have earned seven out of a possible eight points in their last four games. The Coyotes next game will be at Calgary on November 17.

PhoenixCoyotes.com is the official Web site of the Phoenix Coyotes. The Phoenix Coyotes and PhoenixCoyotes.com are trademarks of Coyotes Hockey, LLC.  NHL and the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup are registered trademarks and the NHL Shield and NHL Conference logos are trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P.  Copyright © 2010 The Phoenix Coyotes and the National Hockey League.  All Rights Reserved.

NHL.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Contact us | Site Map