Arizona Coyotes Arizona Coyotes Home Gila River Arena
click map Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest Mobile App Newsletter
  • RSS

Coyotes Announce Annual Team Award Winners

Friday, 04.8.2011 / 7:06 PM MT / News
Arizona Coyotes
Share with your Friends

Coyotes Announce Annual Team Award Winners
Friday, April 8, 2011

GLENDALE, ARIZONA --- The Phoenix Coyotes announced today the winners of the club’s 2010-11 team awards. Coyotes goaltender Ilya Bryzgalov won the AT&T Team MVP Award and the Ganem Jewelers Three-Star Award, while defenseman Keith Yandle won the Toyota Leading Scorer Award. Forward Lauri Korpikoski won the Jukka Nieminen Memorial Trophy given to the player voted by the fans as the team’s hardest working player and center Vernon Fiddler won the Gila River Casinos Man of the Year Award for dedication to the community. Left wing Paul Bissonnette won the Beth Champie Memorial Award presented by the Coyotes Booster Club for his dedication to the fans.

Bryzgalov is currently tied for first on the franchise’s all time wins list with 129. In 66 games with the Coyotes this season, the 30-year-old native of Togliatti, Russia has posted a 35-19-10 record with seven shutouts, a 2.47 goals against average and .921 save percentage. Entering tonight’s game, Bryzgalov ranks sixth in the NHL in wins, fourth in shutouts and 10th in save percentage. He was named the NHL’s Third Star of the Week twice this season (Jan. 17 and Feb. 14) and was named the first star of the game 16 times in 2010-11 to lead the team and win the Ganem Jewelers Three Star Award. Bryzgalov, who was selected as the AT&T MVP by The Arizona Republic and the Coyotes’ television and radio broadcast teams, has started 36 of the last 38 games for the Coyotes heading into tonight’s action, posting a record of 21-11-3 during that span.

Entering tonight’s game, Yandle leads all Coyotes players in points with 11-48-59 in 80 games to win the Toyota Leading Scorer Award. The 24-year-old native of Boston, Massachusetts ranks second among all NHL defensemen in assists and ranks third in scoring. He set career-highs in assists (48), points (59) and penalty minutes (66) this season and represented the Coyotes at his first NHL All-Star Game in Carolina in January. Yandle also leads the Coyotes in average time on ice (24:23) and is only one goal away from tying his career-high goal output from last season (12).

Korpikoski received the Jukka Nieminen Memorial Trophy as the Coyotes’ hardest working player. The 24-year-old native of Turku, Finland is having a career year and ranks third on the team in goals (18) and fifth in scoring with 18-20-38. He also leads the team in shorthanded goals (2) and ranks second plus/minus (+18). Korpikoski was selected as the winner by the fans via voting on and the team’s Facebook page.

Fiddler earned the Gila River Casinos Man of the Year Award for his dedication, commitment and passion for bettering the lives of those in the community during his second season as a member of the Coyotes. Fiddler and his wife Chrissy participated in many community initiatives including assisting DUET in distributing gifts and decorating desserts at the Ronald McDonald House. Vernon also visited the Phoenix Children’s Hospital and participated in the Coyotes’ Beads of Courage program. He serves as a role model to both his teammates and the community. is the official Web site of the Arizona Coyotes. The Arizona Coyotes and are trademarks of IceArizona Hockey Co LLC, NHL, NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL Logos and marks NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 2016 The Arizona Coyotes and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Contact Us