Arizona Coyotes Arizona Coyotes Home Gila River Arena
click map Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest Mobile App Newsletter
  • RSS

Ekman-Larsson Places Seventh in Norris Trophy Voting; Yandle Places 12th

Sunday, 06.16.2013 / 11:18 AM MT / Features
By Dave Vest
Share with your Friends

Ekman-Larsson Places Seventh in Norris Trophy Voting; Yandle Places 12th

GLENDALE – The NHL handed out its annual awards over the weekend, and several Coyotes fared well in the voting for the various trophies.


• Defenseman Oliver Ekman-Larsson, the team’s MVP in 2012-13, finished seventh in the balloting for the Norris Trophy. Ekman-Larsson netted 79 points in the voting for the League’s best defenseman, including three first-place votes, one second-place vote, and two third-place votes. Ekman-Larsson notched 24 points in 48 games, including 21 assists, which ranked 11th among NHL defensemen. He also ranked 13th among blueliners in ice time at 25:05 per game.

• Meanwhile, Keith Yandle placed 12th in the Norris Trophy voting with 27 points, with six fourth-place votes and nine fifth-place votes. Yandle ranked tied for third among NHL defensemen in 2012-13 with 10 goals and tied for fourth with 30 points.

Montreal’s P.K. Subban won the Norris Trophy.

• Center Boyd Gordon finished 12th in the voting for the Selke Trophy, which is given annually to the NHL’s best defensive forward.


Gordon, who notched 32 points in the voting (including two second-place tallies), led Coyotes forwards with 44 blocked shots and in average time for penalty killing. He also ranked second on the team in face-off winning percentage at 57.3 percent.

Chicago’s Jonathan Toews won the Selke Trophy.

• Don Maloney placed tied for 12th in the voting for the General Manager of the Year Award, which went to Pittsburgh’s Ray Shero.

• Captain Shane Doan finished 43rd among the vote getters for the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, which was presented to Tampa Bay’s Martin St. Louis for exhibiting the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability. is the official Web site of the Arizona Coyotes. The Arizona Coyotes and are trademarks of IceArizona Hockey Co LLC, NHL, NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL Logos and marks NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 2016 The Arizona Coyotes and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Contact Us