Arizona Coyotes Arizona Coyotes Home Gila River Arena
click map Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest Mobile App Newsletter
  • RSS

McConnell Wins Broadcasting Award

Thursday, 01.9.2014 / 11:42 AM MT / Features
Arizona Coyotes
Share with your Friends

McConnell Wins Broadcasting Award

GLENDALE -- The National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association announced Thursday that Coyotes TV play-by-play announcer Matt McConnell has won his first Sportscaster of the Year Award for Arizona.

McConnell is in his third season with the Coyotes as the team’s TV play-by-play announcer. Prior to joining the Coyotes broadcast team, McConnell was the TV voice of the Atlanta Thrashers (2009-2011). He also called all the TV play-by-play for the Thrashers from 1999 (their inaugural season in the NHL) through 2003 before moving on to the Minnesota Wild where he called NHL action for two seasons (2003-2005).

During the 2011-12 season, McConnell called his 1,000th NHL game on February 28, 2012 (Coyotes vs. Canucks).

McConnell got his start in the NHL in 1993 when he was named as the radio voice of the expansion Mighty Ducks of Anaheim. He worked with the Ducks through 1996 when he became the radio play-by-play announcer for the Pittsburgh Penguins from 1996-1999.

McConnell has also covered the NHL playoffs for NHL Radio and Westwood One, the Stanley Cup Final for NHL International and the 2009 IIHF World Junior Championship for the NHL Network.

McConnell is a graduate of Michigan State University where he earned a Bachelor’s degree in Telecommunication with major emphasis in Economics. is the official Web site of the Arizona Coyotes. The Arizona Coyotes and are trademarks of IceArizona Hockey Co LLC, NHL, NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL Logos and marks NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 2016 The Arizona Coyotes and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Contact Us