Arizona Coyotes Arizona Coyotes Home Gila River Arena
click map Facebook Twitter Instagram Pinterest Mobile App Newsletter
  • RSS

Coyotes Players Bring Home Gold, Silver and Bronze

Sunday, 02.23.2014 / 10:54 AM MT / Features
Arizona Coyotes
Share with your Friends

Coyotes Players Bring Home Gold, Silver and Bronze

Sunday, February 23, 2014

GLENDALE, ARIZONA – The Phoenix Coyotes had three players win medals at the 2014 Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia. Mike Smith won the gold medal with Canada; Oliver Ekman-Larsson captured silver with Sweden; and Lauri Korpikoski won bronze with Finland. The Coyotes’ three medal winners are their most in Phoenix history and second-most in franchise history.

Smith became the first Coyote to win an Olympic gold medal. The 31-year-old native of Kingston, Ontario was also the first goaltender in franchise history to represent Canada at the Winter Olympics.

Ekman-Larsson finished his first Olympics with 0-3-3 and a plus-four rating in six games for Sweden. The 22-year-old Karlskrona, Sweden native skated in 7:19 and took nine shifts in the gold medal game against Canada. Ekman-Larsson is the second player in franchise history to win an Olympic silver medal and the first since 1988.

Korpikoski, who was also participating in his first Olympics, registered 2-2-4 with a plus-three rating in six games for Finland. The 27-year-old Turku, Finland native recorded 0-2-2 to help Finland defeat the United States, 5-0, in the bronze medal game.

Coyotes forward Martin Hanzal and defenseman Zbynek Michalek represented the Czech Republic and were eliminated in the quarter-finals. is the official Web site of the Arizona Coyotes. The Arizona Coyotes and are trademarks of IceArizona Hockey Co LLC, NHL, NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL Logos and marks NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 2016 The Arizona Coyotes and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Contact Us