Coyotes Lose Preseason Finale to Sharks | Saturday, 10.04.2014 / 2:49 AM

The San Jose Sharks beat the Coyotes, 3-1, in Arizona's preseason finale on Friday night at Gila River Arena.

Matt Nieto, Tye McGinn and Tommy Wingels scored for San Jose and Alex Stalock made 23 saves.

Rob Klinkhammer scored with 3:49 left in the game for Arizona, which got 31 saves from Mike Smith.

"We looked like a team that’s played nine games in 12 days," Coyotes Head Coach Dave Tippett said. "Our group assessed that yesterday, but we talked about pushing through. We didn’t start that good and we got on our heels. You could just tell players wanted to get through this game and get to the day off tomorrow. That being said we got to see Sam Gagner a little bit and continue to evaluate a couple other guys and now camp is over. We will take a day off and time to buckle down and get prepared for Thursday night."

Arizona finished its preseason 4-2-2.

"We did some good things but at the end of the day it’s not good enough and we know that’s not the way, if we want to make playoffs, that we can play," Gagner said. "I think it’s important for us to learn from these preseason games and get better and get set for Game One (of the regular season)."

Forward Justin Hodgman, who is hoping to earn a roster spot, liked playing on a line with captain Shane Doan in his final audition.

"I felt a lot better," Hodgman said. "In the last game I was kind of in my zone for most of the game and it was hard to get things going, but playing with Doaner most of the game, you know those guys are world class players and it was a lot of fun too."

Scoring Summary
1st Period
01:08SJS Matt Nieto (1) Wrist shot - ASST: Logan Couture (1), Patrick Marleau (1) 1 - 0 SJS
2nd Period
3rd Period
14:02SJS Tye McGinn (1) Snap shot - ASST: Joe Pavelski (1), Brent Burns (1) 2 - 0 SJS
16:11ARI Rob Klinkhammer (1) Wrist shot - ASST: NONE 2 - 1 SJS
19:05SJS EN - Tommy Wingels (1) Wrist shot - ASST: Joe Pavelski (2), Justin Braun (1) 3 - 1 SJS
Three Stars of the Game
Tye McGinn
Tye McGinn
G: 1Shots: 2
A: 0Hits: 0
PTS: 1PIM: 5
+/-: 2TOI: 14:16
Rob Klinkhammer
Rob Klinkhammer
G: 1Shots: 1
A: 0Hits: 2
PTS: 1PIM: 2
+/-: 1TOI: 15:48
Matt Nieto
Matt Nieto
G: 1Shots: 3
A: 0Hits: 0
PTS: 1PIM: 0
+/-: 0TOI: 15:39
Penalty Summary
1st Period
03:55SJS Justin Braun  Fighting (maj)  - 5 min against  Kyle Chipchura
03:55ARI Kyle Chipchura  Fighting (maj)  - 5 min against  Justin Braun
03:55SJS Justin Braun  Misconduct (10 min)  - 10 min against  Kyle Chipchura
03:55ARI Kyle Chipchura  Game misconduct  - 10 min
03:55SJS Justin Braun served by John Scott  Instigator  - 2 min against  Kyle Chipchura
03:55ARI Kyle Chipchura served by Rob Klinkhammer  Boarding (maj)  - 5 min against  Logan Couture
2nd Period
06:16ARI Rob Klinkhammer  Interference on goalkeeper  - 2 min against  Alex Stalock
08:52SJS Tye McGinn  Fighting (maj)  - 5 min against  B.J. Crombeen
08:52ARI B.J. Crombeen  Fighting (maj)  - 5 min against  Tye McGinn
12:26SJS Eriah Hayes  Roughing  - 2 min against  Keith Yandle
12:26SJS John Scott  Roughing  - 2 min against  Keith Yandle
12:26ARI Keith Yandle  Embellishment  - 2 min
3rd Period
06:55SJS Tommy Wingels  Kneeing  - 2 min against  Michael Stone
06:55SJS Brent Burns  Roughing  - 2 min against  Matt Smaby
06:55ARI Matt Smaby  Roughing  - 2 min against  Brent Burns
shots by period
Team Stats
Power Plays0/20/2
Faceoff Wins2122
Blocked Shots2111
Penalty Minutes3031
5J. DemersD0001019:58
8J. PavelskiC0220016:46
12P. MarleauL0102015:22
20J. ScottL000229:51
25T. McGinnL1022514:16
37A. BurishR0001016:48
39L. CoutureC0101014:25
41M. MuellerD0010019:48
44M. VlasicD0014023:28
48T. HertlC0012015:10
50C. TierneyC0001015:25
52M. IrwinD0003018:39
57T. WingelsC1017213:30
61J. BraunD01101715:11
76E. HayesR0000211:43
83M. NietoL1003015:39
88B. BurnsD0112223:02
89B. GoodrowR0003015:02
31A. Niemi00.0000:00
32A. Stalock2324.95859:57
3K. YandleD0015225:20
4Z. MichalekD00-12020:29
5C. MurphyD0010018:52
9S. GagnerC00-11016:56
10M. EratR0001018:26
11M. HanzalC0002018:06
14J. VitaleC0000013:22
18D. MossR00-20014:39
19S. DoanR0003023:15
22B. McMillanL00-23012:50
24K. ChipchuraC00-10200:43
26M. StoneD00-21018:49
28L. KorpikoskiL00-10012:55
36R. KlinkhammerL1011215:48
44B. CrombeenR00-11511:34
52J. HodgmanC0002014:39
55M. SmabyD00-10210:40
40D. Dubnyk00.0000:00
41M. Smith3133.93959:43