Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
The Official Website of the Arizona Coyotes Official Website of the Arizona Coyotes Facebook Instagram Mobile App Twitter Pinterest Newsletter
Calgary
Flames
41-29-12
Phoenix
Coyotes
43-26-13

35 SOG
26 SOG
1st2nd3rdT
CGY
PHX
  • Preview
  • Watch
  • Ice Tracker
  • Boxscore
  • Recap
  • photos (53)
game preview

Flames-Coyotes Preview

Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 1:49 AM
Share with your Friends


Flames-Coyotes Preview
Calgary Flames vs. Phoenix Coyotes

The Skinny
 
In order to view this page you need JavaScript and Flash Player 9+ support!

By Anthony Perez
GLENDALE -- After earning three out of a possible four points on their most recent trip, the Coyotes return home on Friday night to take on the Calgary Flames in the first of back-to-back games this weekend at Jobing.com Arena. The puck drops at 7 p.m. (Arizona time).

The Coyotes (5-5-5), who are coming off a 2-1 win at the Chicago Blackhawks on Wednesday night, know that they must build on the momentum they gained on the road.

“We’ve been battling hard, we’ve been playing some good games, but we couldn’t find the ways to win, and (Wednesday) night I felt like we didn’t have a good first period, but we stuck to the game plan and we came out in the second and third period and we played a strong road game," Coyotes forward Eric Belanger said. "Those are the types of games we’re going to have to win to have success.”

Defenseman Garrett Stafford, who was recalled from the American Hockey League on Thursday, will make his debut with the Coyotes on Friday night. Stafford currently leads all San Antonio defensemen in scoring with three goals and nine assists for 12 points in 12 games. He has also notched three multi-point games this season.

Stafford, who has five NHL games on his resume, is looking forward to Friday night’s game against Calgary.

“It feels great,” Stafford said after Thursday’s practice. “Any time you get that call, obviously, this is what all of us dream about and I’m finally getting a chance, an opportunity, and it feels good.”

Associate Coach Ulf Samuelsson spoke with the media after practice on Thursday and talked about the opportunity that Stafford is getting.

“He had a real good camp, he’s a good puck mover, he’s a mobile defenseman, I think he’s going to help out,” Samuelsson said. “He’s a right-handed shot, he’s certainly going to fill a role there because now we have three solid players on the right side and he’s going to play with Lepisto (Friday), so that’s going to be a good third pairing. So, we look forward to seeing him in action.”

Photo by Getty Images.
Flames forward Rene Bourque has notched seven goals and five assists in 12 games. Forward Jarome Iginla is fourth on the team in scoring with eight points in 14 games.

Miikka Kiprusoff has appeared in 12 games for the Flames and has posted a record of 6-6-0, along with a 2.59 goals-against average, a .909 save percentage and two shutouts.

Samuelsson said Calgary would present a strong challenge to the Coyotes.

“I think Bourque is playing extremely well for them right now, and they have some guys that I think are not off to the start they would like to be, but it’s a good team,” Samuelsson said. “We’ve always had some good battles against Calgary. They pursue the puck very hard and usually they’re fun physical games against them.”

Calgary (7-7-0) is coming off a 4-2 road win over the Colorado Avalanche on Tuesday night that ended a four-game losing streak.

Who's Hot
 
Belanger
Coyotes winger Eric Belanger scored his team-leading fourth goal of the season in a 2-1 win at Chicago on Nov. 10. He also co-leads the team with nine points. 
Glencross
Flames left wing Curtis Glencross has notched four goals in his last five games, including two at Colorado that helped spark a come-from-behind victory on Nov. 9.
Did You Know?
 
  • All four games these teams played against each other last season were one-goal games. Three ended with 2-1 scores in regulation, and one ended 3-2 in a shootout. The home team won all four games.

  • The Calgary Flames selected Coyotes defenseman Derek Morris in the first round of the 1996 NHL Entry Draft. Morris, who was the 13th overall pick, went on to play 343 games for Calgary.
  • This game can be heard on KFNN-AM (1510). A link to the radio broadcast will be provided at phoenixcoyotes.com at 7 p.m.
Podcasts
 
Stafford

"I'm definitely here to make an impression and play the same game I played down there (in the AHL)... I want to make myself known."

• Garrett Stafford

• Dave Tippett

Injuries
 
  Ales Kotalik
  Adam Pardy
  Ryan Stone
  Shane Doan
2010-2011 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Mar 15 '11PHX 4 at CGY 3M. Rozsival
Mar 10 '11CGY 0 at PHX 3B. MacLean
Nov 17 '10PHX 3 at CGY 1M. Hanzal
Nov 12 '10CGY 4 at PHX 5V. Fiddler
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
R. Bourque138614-1623
B. Morrison153912+1410
A. Tanguay155510-31000
M. Stajan13189-1400
N. Hagman15448-3820
O. Jokinen15268+01100
J. Iginla15268-71311
C. Glencross14527+31410
M. Giordano15156+31310
M. Backlund15325+1200
I. White15235-7610
J. Bouwmeester15145+11210
C. Sarich12044+51000
T. Jackman15213-33800
R. Regehr15033+0400
C. Conroy13202+1601
D. Moss4112+1001
S. Meyer13022+11200
B. Mikkelson10022-1700
S. Staios8011-21100
B. Sutter4011-1500
T. Brodie3000-3200
A. Pardy2000+0400
R. Ivanans1000-1500
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
M. Kiprusoff136-7-0353652.70.904
H. Karlsson31-1-09594.32.847
PlayerGPGAP+/-PIMPPGW
L. Stempniak16549+3410
E. Belanger16459-2411
E. Jovanovski14369+51411
W. Wolski14189-2000
L. Korpikoski16358+1201
K. Yandle16358-52410
A. Aucoin16077+51200
R. Vrbata16426+2400
S. Upshall16426+0801
K. Turris12426-3000
R. Whitney14066+0600
V. Fiddler16314+21701
M. Hanzal10224+31200
T. Pyatt16134+3800
S. Lepisto12213+1900
D. Morris13123-3610
S. Doan9123-52510
O. Ekman-Larsson14033+11200
A. Ebbett6101+1201
P. Prucha10011+0400
D. Schlemko10000-3600
P. Bissonnette5000+11000
G. Stafford1000+1000
GoalieGPRec.GASAGAASv%
I. Bryzgalov145-2-5394562.93.914
J. LaBarbera41-3-0101043.45.904
ArizonaCoyotes.com is the official Web site of the Arizona Coyotes. The Arizona Coyotes and ArizonaCoyotes.com are trademarks of IceArizona Hockey Co LP. NHL, NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL Logos and marks NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 2010 The Arizona Coyotes and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.


NHL.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Contact us | Site Map