Arizona Coyotes Arizona Coyotes Home Gila River Arena

Game Preview

Coyotes-Stars Preview

Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 1:49 AM
Share with your Friends

Coyotes-Stars Preview
Phoenix Coyotes vs. Dallas Stars

The Skinny
In order to view this page you need JavaScript and Flash Player 9+ support!

By Dave Vest
The Coyotes will attempt to stretch their winning streak - and their shutout streak - to three games tonight when they play the Dallas Stars at the American Airlines Center. The puck drops at 6:30 p.m. (Arizona time).

Phoenix (27-19-9) will enter the game just two points behind the first-place Stars (30-18-5) in the Pacific Division standings.

Goalie Ilya Bryzgalov will make his 14th consecutive start. Bryzgalov will have a chance to post his third consecutive shutout. No Coyotes netminder has done that since Brian Boucher set a modern-day NHL record with five straight shutouts from Dec. 31, 2003-Jan. 9, 2004.

"Bryzgalov has been solid and when he's had to make big saves, he has, but we've been more committed in front of him, playing stronger defense," Coyotes Head Coach Dave Tippett said.

Tonight's game is the fourth between these teams this season. Phoenix has won the past two games and has outscored Dallas, 6-2, in those victories.

Photo by Getty Images.
The Coyotes will play minus injured defenseman Ed Jovanovski who has missed the past three games. Jovanovski took part in Wednesday's morning skate but he will be a game-time decision.

Center Vernon Fiddler, who has missed the past 10 games because of an upper-body injury, is expected to return to the lineup.

Dallas has lost three games in a row and was outscored 13-5 in those games. Injuries (see INJURIES below) have taken a toll on the Stars, who are clinging to first place in the division by the slightest margin; second-place San Jose is just one point behind and fifth-place Los Angeles is only five back.

The Stars, who haven't played since Saturday, rank 11th in the NHL in power-play efficiency (19.1 percent), but their penalty killing is struggling at 79.8 percent, which isn't good considering they average 15.4 penalty minutes per game.

Goalie Kari Lehtonen has posted a 1-4-0 record and a 3.73 goals-against average in his last five starts.
Who's Hot
Coyotes goalie Ilya Bryzgalov made 26 saves on Monday night vs. Colorado to post his second consecutive shutout and the 21st shutout of his career.
Stars captain Brenden Morrow, who leads the team with 23 goals, is averaging a goal per game over the past four games.
Did You Know?
  • The Coyotes enter this game needing one victory to reach the 500-win mark since relocating from Winnipeg to Phoenix in 1996.

  • Coyotes Head Equipment Manager Stan Wilson will work his 1,500th career NHL game tonight.
  • This game can be seen on Fox Sports Arizona and can be heard on XTRA Sports 910 (AM). A link to the radio broadcast will be provided at at 6:30 p.m.

Click below to listen to members of the Coyotes talk about tonight's game.

• Keith Yandle

• Dave Tippett

  Krys Barch
  Jamie Benn
  Adam Burish
  Toby Petersen
  Ray Sawada
  Ed Jovanovski
  David Schlemko
2010-2011 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Mar 29 '11 DAL 1 at PHX 2 - SO R. Whitney
Mar 01 '11 DAL 3 at PHX 2 J. Benn
Feb 09 '11 PHX 3 at DAL 2 - OT R. Vrbata
Dec 26 '10 PHX 1 at DAL 0 K. Turris
Dec 11 '10 DAL 2 at PHX 5 S. Doan
Nov 05 '10 PHX 3 at DAL 6 J. Benn
K. Yandle5693746-35420
R. Whitney54103141-41820
S. Doan46112536-54563
L. Stempniak56141630+7820
R. Vrbata53141630-11082
S. Upshall55161026+53822
L. Korpikoski56111526+91201
E. Belanger5671724-12012
T. Pyatt52131023+92326
M. Hanzal49111021-34064
A. Aucoin5421719+173800
K. Turris459918-2601
W. Wolski3661016-61000
M. Rozsival3941216+02611
E. Jovanovski445914+43511
V. Fiddler465813+43601
D. Morris524711-114011
O. Ekman-Larsson4011011+22000
S. Lepisto434610+63500
D. Schlemko25055+11800
M. Boedker10123+2200
P. Bissonnette32101+44900
A. Ebbett12101+0201
B. MacLean2101+0011
N. Yonkman12011+32400
P. Prucha11011+0400
G. Stafford2000+0000
C. Summers2000-3400
I. Bryzgalov4422-14-611213462.59.917
J. LaBarbera156-5-3394433.07.912
M. Climie10-0-01161.88.938
B. Richards54223961+52453
L. Eriksson53183553+15474
M. Ribeiro54103747-31863
B. Morrow54231437-24772
J. Neal54201737+105853
J. Benn46132033-53621
S. Robidas5332124+65511
S. Ott54101121-613222
T. Daley5451520+92221
J. Langenbrunner4351318-143113
A. Burish527411+27701
B. Segal36459+03401
N. Grossmann52189+43500
J. Woywitka35167+81810
K. Skrastins50336-33001
M. Niskanen42066-23000
T. Wandell47314-4801
B. Sutherby42224-65400
M. Fistric35213-63201
T. Petersen34123-7600
K. Barch32112-68000
A. Gagnon13022-2000
P. Larsen6022+1000
T. Morin3000+0000
F. Wathier2000-2000
T. Vincour1000+0000
R. Sawada1000-1000
C. Sceviour1000-1000
K. Lehtonen4222-14-611012902.64.915
A. Raycroft168-4-0333892.57.915
R. Bachman10-0-0040.001.000 is the official Web site of the Arizona Coyotes. The Arizona Coyotes and are trademarks of IceArizona Hockey Co LP. NHL, NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL Logos and marks NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 2015 The Arizona Coyotes and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Contact us | Site Map