Arizona Coyotes Arizona Coyotes Home Gila River Arena

Game Preview

Coyotes-Predators Preview

Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 1:49 AM
Share with your Friends

Coyotes-Predators Preview
Phoenix Coyotes vs. Nashville Predators

The Skinny
In order to view this page you need JavaScript and Flash Player 9+ support!
By Dave Vest
The Coyotes will play the third and final game of a season-opening trip today against the Nashville Predators at Bridgestone Arena. The puck drops at 5 p.m. (AZ time).

Today’s game is the first of four between these Western Conference rivals this season.

Jason LaBarbera will start in goal for the Coyotes (0-1-1), who are seeking their first win of the season. It will be the first start of 2011-12 for LaBarbera, who is 3-3-0 vs. Nashville in his career with a 3.19 goals-against average.

The Coyotes are seeking their first five-on-five goal of the young season. So far, Phoenix has scored all four of its goals on power plays and rank sixth in the NHL in power-play efficiency (4 for 14).

"Five-on-five is going to be big for us," Coyotes captain Shane Doan said after Thursday's morning skate. "As a group, we've got to find scoring by committee. There's a group of guys that have to contribute and if they're not contributing than it's going to be tough."

Phoenix is averaging 35 shots on goal per game. Only four teams average more. Doan and defenseman Keith Yandle are leading the way with 5.5. shots per game.

Jason LaBarbera
The Coyotes again will be without defenseman Michal Rozsival, who suffered an upper-body injury in the season opener at San Jose.

Tonight's game is the home opener for Nashville (2-0-0), which began its season with road wins at Columbus and St. Louis. As such, Coyotes Head Coach Dave Tippett is expecting an extremely challenging game.

"You've just got to compete and you've got to push back a little bit," Tippett said about being the visiting team at an opponent's home opener. "We expect Nashville to come at us hard. It's their home opener and there's going to be a lot of energy in the building. We have to make sure we come out and compete and push back."

Goalie Pekka Rinne, who is three wins shy of 100 for his NHL career, stopped 63 of 67 shots in those games. Rinne has posted a 6-3-1 record and 1.78 goals-against average vs. Phoenix in 10 games.

Rookie Craig Smith has scored a goal in each of his first two NHL games, becoming the first Predator to do so. A week into the season, Smith is co-leading NHL rookies with four points.

Right wing Patric Hornqvist, who ranked second on the Preds last season with 21 goals, may not play because of a lower-body injury.

EDITOR'S NOTE: Click here to watch a video of LaBarbera talking about his approach to the season and his new mask that honors Pat Tillman/military personnel.

Who's Hot
Coyotes captain Shane Doan has notched two goals, an assist and a shootout goal in the first two games of the season.
Predators center David Legwand has notched two goals and three assists in the first two games of the season.
Did You Know?
  • The Coyotes are 50-14-21 in one-goal games under Head Coach Dave Tippett.

  • Coyotes defenseman Keith Yandle owns the team’s current longest iron man streak with 175 consecutive games played.

  • Tonight's game will be broadcast on Fox Sports Arizona and on XTRA Sports 910 (AM). A link to the radio broadcast will be provided at at 5 p.m.

  Francis Bouillon
  Martin Erat
  Mike Fisher
  Roman Josi
  Michal Rozsival
2011-2012 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Mar 12 '12 NSH 5 at PHX 4 - SO A. Kostitsyn
Dec 06 '11 PHX 3 at NSH 2 K. Yandle
Nov 03 '11 NSH 3 at PHX 0 J. Blum
Oct 13 '11 PHX 5 at NSH 2 L. Korpikoski
S. Doan3325-2420
K. Yandle3033+0400
M. Boedker3112+0000
R. Vrbata3112-1010
R. Whitney3112-2000
M. Hanzal3022+0400
D. Langkow3022-3000
L. Korpikoski3101+1001
O. Ekman-Larsson3101-2010
D. Schlemko2101+3000
B. Gordon3011+3000
R. Klesla3011+2700
T. Pyatt3011+0400
R. Torres3011+0000
P. Nokelainen2011+1000
D. Morris3000-2800
A. Aucoin3000-3400
P. Bissonnette2000+0200
M. Rozsival1000+0000
P. O'Sullivan1000+0000
K. Chipchura1000+0000
M. Smith20-1-17773.41.909
D. Legwand3257+1010
C. Smith3224-1210
R. Suter3213+1010
S. Kostitsyn3033-1000
C. Wilson3112-1000
S. Weber3022+1000
M. Halischuk3101+1201
K. Klein3101-2001
C. O'Reilly3011+0200
N. Spaling3011-2000
J. Tootoo3000+0200
B. Geoffrion3000+0200
J. Smithson3000-1400
T. Laakso3000-1200
J. Blum3000-2000
P. Hornqvist2000+0000
J. Hillen2000-1400
B. McGrattan1000+0000
Z. Stortini1000+0700
M. Ekholm1000+0000
M. Erat1000-2000
N. Bergfors1000-2200
P. Rinne22-0-04672.00.940 is the official Web site of the Arizona Coyotes. The Arizona Coyotes and are trademarks of IceArizona Hockey Co LP. NHL, NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL Logos and marks NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 2015 The Arizona Coyotes and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Contact us | Site Map