Arizona Coyotes Arizona Coyotes Home Gila River Arena

Game Preview

Coyotes-Flames Preview

Wednesday, 08.06.2014 / 1:49 AM
Share with your Friends

Coyotes-Flames Preview
Phoenix Coyotes vs. Calgary Flames

The Skinny
In order to view this page you need JavaScript and Flash Player 9+ support!
By Dave Vest
The Coyotes will try to extend their point streak to 10 consecutive games tonight when they play the Calgary Flames at the Scotiabank Saddledome. The puck drops at 7 p.m. (Arizona time).

Phoenix (30-21-9) will enter the game in seventh place in the Western Conference standings but tied with Pacific Division leading San Jose with 69 points.

The Coyotes have won five consecutive games against the Flames, including the last two played at Calgary. These teams last played on Feb. 9 in Arizona; Phoenix won 2-1 in overtime.

Goalie Mike Smith, who is currently riding a career-high eight-game winning streak, is expected to start.

Center Antoine Vermette, whom Phoenix acquired in a trade with Columbus on Wednesday, will make his Coyotes debut. Vermette notched eight goals and 19 assists in 60 games for the Blue Jackets this season before being traded. On Tuesday, he appeared in his 600th career NHL game.

"I can't wait to get going (with the Coyotes)," Vermette said. "...they play well as a group and that's why they're so successful."

He added: "Don Maloney told me he was happy to get me in the trade and I am too. I can't wait to be part of this (team)."

Center Daymond Langkow will play his first game at Scotiabank Saddledome since being traded by the Flames to the Coyotes in the off-season. Langkow played 392 games for the Flames before the deal.

Forward Taylor Pyatt, who has missed the past three games because of an upper-body injury, will return to the lineup tonight. That’s the good news. The bad news is that injured forwards Gilbert Brule and Kyle Chipchura and injured defensemen Rostislav Klesla and David Schlemko will not. Defenseman Derek Morris, who is on a leave of absence because of a family illness, also will not play.

Photo by Norm Hall.
Calgary (28-23-9) will enter the game in ninth place in the Western Conference standings but just a point behind eighth-place Los Angeles, which is idle tonight.

Goalie Miikka Kiprusoff, who was pulled after two periods on Tuesday during a 6-1 loss to Edmonton, is expected to be back in goal. Kiprusoff is 10-4-3 in his last 17 starts while facing more than 500 shots in those games.

Tuesday’s loss was Calgary’s first in regulation in February and it snapped the team’s eight-game point streak (5-0-3).

Flames captain Jarome Iginla is leading the team with 23 goals and former Coyotes center Olli Jokinen is tops in assists (31) and points (49).

Defenseman Jay Bouwmeester holds the longest current ironman streak in the NHL at 566 games (streak started on March 6, 2004).

Who's Hot
Coyotes right wing Radim Vrbata has notched eight  goals and six assists in his last 11 games, and has scored three game-winning goals in the last five games.
Flames center Mike Cammalleri has notched three goals and one assist in his last five games.
Did You Know?
  • Coyotes Associate Coach Jim Playfair posted a 43-29-10 record as head coach of the Flames in 2006-07.

  • Coyotes center Boyd Gordon leads all NHL forwards in blocked shots (69).

  • Tonight's game will be broadcast on FOX Sports Arizona Plus and on XTRA Sports 910 AM at 7 p.m. For in-game updates via Twitter, follow @coyotesgameday.

2011-2012 season series
DateScoreW. Goal
Mar 15 '12 PHX 1 at CGY 4 J. Iginla
Mar 01 '12 CGY 4 at PHX 2 O. Jokinen
Feb 23 '12 PHX 4 at CGY 3 - SO R. Whitney
Feb 09 '12 CGY 1 at PHX 2 - OT S. Doan
R. Whitney61173956+222450
R. Vrbata61302252+1820710
S. Doan61191837-83755
K. Yandle6182634+43602
L. Korpikoski61131730+91203
A. Vermette6181927-181223
M. Hanzal4781927+114132
D. Langkow5281422-61411
O. Ekman-Larsson6171522-12211
B. Gordon5471320+121001
M. Boedker6181018-11001
R. Torres589716-24800
K. Chipchura4721315+54000
T. Pyatt587714-41400
R. Klesla512911+92500
D. Schlemko4111011+71000
D. Morris48189-102600
G. Brule17347+3210
M. Rozsival33077+51600
A. Aucoin51246+103410
C. O'Reilly27246-7410
D. Rundblad26156-10600
P. O'Sullivan23224-4200
C. Summers15033-2400
M. Pouliot9022-3200
P. Bissonnette20101-22101
P. Nokelainen5011-1000
A. Miele7000-3600
K. Turris6000-2400
M. Stone3000+1000
M. Watkins1000-1000
M. Smith4827-14-710714392.30.926
J. LaBarbera163-7-2364082.59.912
C. McElhinney21-0-02361.67.944
O. Jokinen61193150+24273
J. Iginla61232548-63054
A. Tanguay4582634+52201
C. Glencross46181533-52462
M. Cammalleri54141630-111833
L. Stempniak51121224-11412
J. Bouwmeester6141923-122021
R. Bourque3813316-34131
M. Giordano4041014-14020
C. Butler6021113-33000
T. Brodie4721012-21212
B. Comeau574711-152000
M. Backlund414711-131622
B. Morrison284711-1600
R. Horak483710+41401
S. Hannan572810-71800
D. Smith332810+21201
T. Kostopoulos60369-124811
B. Jones35347-21601
M. Stajan40257-92300
T. Jackman61167-187700
P. Byron22325+3201
D. Moss15145+1600
A. Babchuk17055+1200
C. Sarich45134-65400
N. Hagman8134+3211
L. Bouma18112-2900
K. Kolanos10011+0200
J. Piskula5000-5200
P. Letourneau-Leblond3000+11000
C. Wilson2000+0200
G. Nemisz2000+0000
B. Carson2000-2000
R. Ivanans1000-1000
M. Kiprusoff5327-18-611915162.31.922
L. Irving51-1-3151763.26.915
H. Karlsson70-4-1191803.45.894 is the official Web site of the Arizona Coyotes. The Arizona Coyotes and are trademarks of IceArizona Hockey Co LP. NHL, NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL Logos and marks NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 2015 The Arizona Coyotes and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Contact us | Site Map